reviews

 

Eileen M.

Peaceful, relaxing cottage in fantastic scenery

The cottage has everything you need for a ‘get away from it all’ holiday. The pool and day bed are wonderful and the cottage surprisingly cool in the heat. The gardens are beautiful and it’s so relaxing to sit in and soak up the smell of lavender.

The track to the cottage is a little bumpy but our rented Nissan Note managed OK but ideally a small 4×4 would be better.

I would recommend learning some Spanish but people are v helpful anyway and we managed! If you have a problem, Nicky is always more than happy to help! She even had our lost luggage delivered to her house so we wouldn’t have to wait in at the cottage.

Nicky and Henrique were wonderful hosts and even let us watch the watering of the plants using the traditional watering methods designed and used by the Moors in the region. We all thought this was amazing!

I would thoroughly recommend this to any one who enjoys a quiet holiday away from the crowds.

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday Nicky and Henrique and Pina the doggie! xxxx

From the Moores

Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016  Date of Stay: Jul 2016 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Lisa C.

Glasgow

Hidden Gem!

We had the most amazing time here. The place is just stunning. You feel all tucked away from the world in your own little patch of paradise. The owner was lovely, helpful and welcoming we could have asked for more…… But 9 months later our beautiful daughter was born! 😍

Review Submitted: May 19, 2016  Date of Stay: Sep 2015 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Alex

Cornwall

We will be Returning

Having not been on holiday for ten years, my partner and I decided in June 2013 that a trip to Andalucía was in order. On reading the description and on seeing the accompanying photos, we agreed on a visit to Nicky’s beautiful mountain cortijo, including a short trip to Granada and the Alhambra. Indeed, we enjoyed the Alpujarras so much that we have since returned to Piedras three times – within a fourteen month period – for both long and short breaks.

And what is it that makes Piedras so appealing? Firstly, that Nicky has created the perfect rural idyll free from modernity comprising stunning gardens, a pool with a daybed that could be described as too comfortable and simple, natural interiors that incorporate local slate and wood. Secondly, despite the property sitting at 1450 metres above sea level and being located 50km inland, you can see the Mediterranean on a clear day and the mountain tops of North Africa beyond. Thirdly, the property is suitably tucked away to afford you absolute privacy. And, with no phone, no internet, no television, no street lights, no mains electricity or water, a stay at solar-powered and spring-fed Piedras offers insight into how a life in balance with nature really looks. However if you do need a ‘modern life’ fix, all is close at hand; the scattering of nearby Moorish villages offer excellent local cuisine (and free Wi-Fi), as well as bars, banks, shops, chemists… and with Granada and Almeria both within easy reach, city life too can be enjoyed.

And will we be returning? Yes and soon, as there is still so much for us to experience — we are yet to have a beach day, partly due to the comfort and perfect isolation of Piedras!

Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2014  Date of Stay: Sep 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Jacqueline

Cheshire

beautiful and relaxing

It was the most beautiful place; the countryside and the property. We enjoyed the privacy that the remote location gave us and had the most relaxing holiday ever.

The “road” to the property was very narrow and bumpy coursing us to burst a tire so we were glad to have paid for extra cover on the hire car insurance. This was the only problem that we had during our stay so all in all we’d recommend this property to anyone who likes total peace and relaxation.

The gardens were full of sweet smelling flowers like lavender and roses which made relaxing on the day bed even nicer; in fact it was hard to leave the property to go out and see the local area!

We also loved sharing the house with the resident gecko’s; fun to watch them scamper around the wall and ceiling.

Really didn’t want to come home and now looking forward to visiting again (need to learn more Spanish though; the locals tried their best to understand us but we were glad the owner was so helpful when it came to sorting the tire out).

Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2013  Date of Stay: Aug 2013 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

 

These  reviews can be seen by following this link:

https://www.ownersdirect.co.uk/accommodation/p8054227